I Finally Saw the King’s Speech

30 Mar

And now I know what all hype was about! What a fabulous movie- great acting and storytelling. The film is a newbie- made in 2010- and directed by Tom Hooper. It stars Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush, and Helena Bonham Carter and was nominated for 12 Academy Awards (winning Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, and Best Original Screenplay).

The film follows the story of Prince Albert (aka Bertie) as he struggles to overcome a speech impediment that has plagued him since childhood. At first his stutter is frustrating in his very public position as a Prince and the Duke of York, but when his father dies and his brother Price David abdicates the throne, Bertie become King George VI and his determination to overcome his handicap is all the more important. His speech therapist, the unconventional and hilarious Lionel Logue, is there to support and guide him until the very stressful and nerve wracking climax, when Bertie must give a radio broadcast to declare war with Germany in 1939. My favorite scene was his rehearsal for this speech (sensitive ears, consider yourselves warned!):

The characters were brilliant and perfect. At the end of the movie my goosebumps had goosebumps. The costumes and scenery were beautiful. I highly recommend this movie to all movie-lovers and heartily agree with the Oscars for giving this one best picture.

*It should also be known that I saw this movie with my best friend, Brennan Patrick O’lena*

2 Responses to “I Finally Saw the King’s Speech”

  1. Rosemary Karnowski March 30, 2011 at 8:45 PM #

    Your uncle and I saw this a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it, too! My favorite was Helena Bohnam Carter; she can do just about anything and I believe she is underrated as an actress.

    • jenneemarie22 March 30, 2011 at 9:36 PM #

      I completely agree! Brennan I i did make the comment that this is the first time we’ve seen her play a normal person, and she did amazing! (I may just not have seen enough of her work though. My experience until King’s Speech is limited to Harry Potter and Alice in Wonderland and Fight Club. Any must sees I’m missing?)

Leave a Reply

