Panic! Reboot is Neither A Sin Nor A Tragedy

3 Feb

The boys that got my teen heart beating faster faster, Panic! at the Disco, are back and sounding pretty awesome. I’ve had a fever that I haven’t been able to sweat out ever since Panic! released Pretty. Odd in 2008 and I well… didn’t enjoy it. They were one of my favorite bands and the stuff they were putting out made me consider martyrdom, nay, suicide. I wanted to eat nails for breakfast, and tacks for snacks. I told myself “This couldn’t be the end of Panic! This couldn’t be all they had to offer! Their first album was soooo good, where did all the sexy lyrics and catchy hooks and choruses go? Listening to Panic used to be the most fun a girl could have without taking her clothes off, and now I just feel like I’m listening to some rehashed Beatles circa Yellow Submarine.”

Anyways, after Pretty. Odd pretty much flopped, half the band split to form the Young Veins and half remained to continue Panicking, but I think at that point everyone considered them done-zo. However, fans beckoned for songs more like what they previously did, written by Brendon Urie (I constantly thank God for Brendon Urie), and boy did they deliver with their new single from the forthcoming album Vices and Virtues. You could write them off as having had their 15 minutes of fame, but it’s better if you do(n’t)… The old Panic is back and I’m loving every second of it. Here is the latest song “The Ballad of Mona Lisa”- now it’s time to dance!

(If this post confuses you or seems random, you’re probably not a Panic fan… To translate, a band from my youth has a comeback album coming out, and I’m excited about it.)

Leave a Reply

