Holiday Traditions

21 Dec

Holiday traditions are an interesting thing. Christmas music and egg nog while decorating the tree and the infamous Santa Party are always staples in my family. And this year I was introduced to a new holiday tradition- Christmas cookie baking! While these are all great, I can’t help but feel that my holiday cheer was a little “weak sauce” this year. Sooo here is a short list of traditions I would like to start doing (probably not this year, but hopefully next year for sure!):

1) Christmas Eve Pajamas

I’ve heard about this one from a number of friends. Legend says that on Christmas Eve, everyone gets a new pair of PJ’s that they then wear to bed that night and during the early morning festivities on Christmas morning.

2) Build a Gingerbread House

I did this one year and it was great fun! I’m not sure why this one didn’t continue, as it has all kinds of potential… I’m thinking maybe a friendly competition among friends? Or maybe building gingerbread replicas of a famous building?

3) Go see a Christmas Show

I haven’t been to the Nutcracker in ages, and years ago my family would go see the Christmas Carol or the Rockette’s Christmas Show. This is something that definitely needs to be brought back, and we could rotate shows from year to year to keep it exciting!

4) Ice Skating at Red Arrow Park

Yes I know I can do this after the Holiday season, but there’s just something about ice skating in the snow with that big tree all decorated and an aura of holiday anticipation filling the air

5) The SMHS Christmas Feaste

This may seem like it would fit under the “Holiday Show” tradition but it soooo does not. The Feaste is in a league of its own and I am ashamed to admit I haven’t attended since I stopped participating in the show myself. I am resolved to attend next year for sure!

6) Christmas movies

I’m talking about Rudolf and Frosty and A Christmas Story. I haven’t seen any this year (let alone, my all time favorite- A Year Without A Santa Claus. Love them Meiser brothers!)

7) Personalized Christmas card

Now that I have a little family of my own (I’ve fully embraced my cat lady identity at this point) I think next year I’ll do a card. I love receiving them in the mail, and printing them is really inexpensive now!

So Mango readers- what are your favorite holiday traditions? Do you have a suggestion for my list?

2 Responses to “Holiday Traditions”

  1. Emily December 21, 2010 at 3:59 PM #

    we dvr-ed a year without a santa claus if you’d like to come over and watch sometime 🙂

  2. Sam Klam December 21, 2010 at 7:09 PM #

    My family would rotate between seeing A Christmas Carol and The Nutcracker every Christmas and the last two years we have not gone. I am more than willing to start going again, it was my favorite tradition.

    And sign me up for the feaste! Mr. Calnin puts on a fabulous show every year without fail!

Leave a Reply

