Netflixs Fanatic: How to Lose Friends and Alienate People

17 Dec

After my crazy week of school ended on Wednesday, I plopped down on the couch and treated myself to the Netflixs movie that had been sitting in my mailbox for days. That movie was How to Lose Friends and Alienate People, a 2008 film that was directed by Robert B. Weide and stars Simon Pegg, Kirsten Dunst, Jeff Bridges, Gillian Anderson, and Megan Fox. It’s based on the memoir of the same title by Toby Young.

Simon Pegg stars as Sydney Young, a small time British journalist who runs his own radical gossip magazine, until one day, he is hired by Clayton Harding (Jeff Bridges) to come write for his New York City magazine, Sharps. Sydney’s transition to America is a rough one, and he quickly annoys his co-worker Alison Olsen (Kirsten Dunst), his boss Lawrence Maddox (Danny Huston), and big-wig publicist Eleanor Johnson (Gillian Anderson). His crass ways and inappropriate sexual advances alienate every woman he comes into contact with, especially budding starlet Sophie Maes (Megan Fox). Eventually Sydney caters to Sharps’ way of doing things and his life turns around, but will he stay that way? (No spoilers here!)

I got a number of laughs out of this movie. Simon Pegg is a physical comedian who keeps it from going into silly-cheesy territory. Even when he was an asshole, I was rooting for him. And I’m becoming an increasingly big fan of Jeff Bridges. His part in this film was small, but awesome. Megan Fox played a ditzy starlet, which should probably be the only  role she’s ever allowed to play. This was either a self-deprecating role, or they just brought her on set and said “OK Megan today we’re changing your name to Sophie. But other than that just act like it’s any other day.” And I really like Kirsten Dunst (who went to rehab? How did I miss that?) so it was nice to see her too. All in all I’m giving it: 4 STARS

(fyi- 1 star I just wasted a couple hours of my life. 2 stars meh I didn’t really like it, but it was OK. 3 stars I liked it, but probably won’t see it again. 4 stars I liked it and would definitely see it again, 5 stars OMG I need it on DVD now)

Leave a Reply

