Neflix Fanatic: Revolutionary Road

2 Oct

My latest Netflix rental was Revolutionary Road, the 2008 film directed by Sam Mendes and starring Kate Winslet and Leonardo DiCaprio (aka my future husband).

The movie is based on a book of the same name and was nominated for three Academy Awards. The story follows Frank and April Wheeler as the come to terms with life in suburbia. Frank eventually settles in and looks forward to climbing the corporate ladder and raising their expanding family, however April has a hard time dealing with living by society’s “rules” and longs for a carefree life in Paris. The couple has increasingly more intense arguments and eventually it leads to tragedy… (dun dun dun)

I really enjoyed the movie, but didn’t realize how much I liked it until I thought about it for awhile after it was over. I realized April’s lust for a more exciting and unconventional life somewhat reflects my own feelings, but I’m kinda hoping my life doesn’t follow the same course as the Wheelers… I guess the key is finding someone who feels the same way and won’t change their mind when they get comfortable. My netflix rating: 4 STARS

(fyi- 1 star I just wasted a couple hours of my life. 2 stars meh I didn’t really like it, but it was OK. 3 stars I liked it, but probably won’t see it again. 4 stars I liked it and would definitely see it again, 5 stars OMG I need it on DVD now)

Leave a Reply

