Silly Adultz: Buying into a Grade School Trend

30 Sep

I guess the latest and greatest pick-up line when you go out to the bars isn’t a pick-up line at all. Full grown and mature adults are buying into the lastest craze to hit the blacktop, Silly Bandz, and handing them out as a form of flirtation when they hit the bar scene.

Now, if this is the first time you’ve even heard of these rubber phenomenons, here’s the low down. The bandzzz were created in Japan in 2002, and were originally meant to be a more sustainable alternative to the standard office rubber band. However those plans were scrapped and the product was re-purposed as a fashion accessory for children. Silly Bandz come in dozens of shapes, colors, and themes (Such as letters, dinosaurs, and princesses). When worn on a wrist or ankle, they function as a regular bracelet, but when taken off, they revert to their original shape. They are often worn many at a time and are traded like collectibles (Thanks Wikipedia!).

I’m not sure how I feel about this whole thing. I mean for kids, sure whatever (I’m from the pogs generation, so I really don’t have any excuse…), but I’m kind of disturbed by the number of these silly things that I’ve seen on campus and will apparently see when I’m out on the town… I guess it isn’t a big deal, but when the New York Daily News quotes adults saying things such as :

“I went on a date with a girl. She gave me one. Two days later, another girl gave me another Silly Band. I felt important.”

And:
“People always notice them, they are a great conversation starter.”
I have to worry a little bit for society, humanity and our future… (or something less dramatic)

Ooo a puppy!

(Confession: I do have one. It’s a shoe. It was given to me by Emily Kaestner. There I said it…)
One Response to “Silly Adultz: Buying into a Grade School Trend”

  1. Emily September 30, 2010 at 4:31 PM #

    thanks for the shout out 🙂

Leave a Reply

